I forgot, have you?

I forgot my why. I forgot my goals. It all became unimportant.

I have time. I can make time. I can do it. It’s so easy to find an excuse. Lazy is lack of a better term, and dang it hurts to classify myself as lazy but it’s so damn true. You just have to start somewhere and began dismissing the excuses. Dismiss them one at a time, until they are no longer a problem.

Accountability is what I’m looking for. I need an accountant. Not for my money but to keep pushing me to be a better person. Anyone else in the same boat?

Sure, I have MyFitnessPal that can tally my calories, fat, and sugar intake. But I am doing just fine in the eating department. Working out on the other hand, I need some accountability people. My why was tossed to the wayside and I really had to search my inner soul for the reasons and purpose again. So I dug deep and sat in quiet as I could concentrate on my why…

I thought about how many months that my Instagram feed was filled with what was suppose to be inspirational posts of “that body”. At night I laid my head went to sleep thinking of that goal. When I woke, I turned to notice my once flat butt was still in fact flat. I was looking in the wrong place for inspiration. Would it be nice to walk around with a perfect goddess body that looks as if it was made from a mold? I would answer yes to this on some days but truth is, no. I wouldn’t. We are all made differently and I don’t want a perfect body. I have no real complaints about my body. I really am in no competition with anyone but myself. I just know that I want a healthy body that can carry me through my life.

As we age, our bodies change. Our health is also changing as the years pass by. You should do all that you can to keep yourself healthy now. Healthy doesn’t mean you have to be a size 2. It can be a size 8, a size 10, a size 5. Heck! Size does not matter at all. Being healthy does!

Find a way, not a way out. Find time, not a time out. Find your strength and dismiss your weakness. I don’t want to be skinny, I want to be strong. I want to be healthy and feel good, everyday. I want to be positive and kind and spread my knowledge and gather knowledge and support from others.

image

I began to write my purposes out on a picture I had taken just after a workout. I’m going to plaster them somewhere I’ll look everyday. I suggest you do the same. Sit down and think of your whys. Why should you change the way you eat? Is that even a problem? Why you want to be healthier. Or are you the healthiest you’ve ever been and there’s no room for improvement, but you may enjoy sharing your knowledge? What are the reasons behind your why? Have you even had the slightest voice saying, “you need to do something” but maybe just haven’t convinced yourself that you need to start anything? Could it be that you know someone struggling and want to be a guide for them? An encourager, a coach, a directory for them to follow. Whatever it may be- Start here. Make a list of all your whys.

Then hang them somewhere you’ll see them daily: on the fridge, above the stove, on your dresser, your mirror, the bathroom wall. Look at them and read them each time you pass by them. It’s okay to need reminders. Don’t be ashamed of your goals. Be proud you’re willing to make a change. It may take hundreds of times of reading it but encouragement is needed everyday. Remembering your whys are important!

It’s been 2 weeks since I started this post. And in those 2 weeks I’ve been starting small and working at my goals with proper rest days in between. I honestly forgot how good sore feels. It’s energized my day. The short time I gave to myself in the morning kept me going, unlike before when I wanted to use nap time for my personal time or quiet chores. I feel better subconsciously because I didn’t give in to the voice saying, “maybe tomorrow” or “maybe later”. We all know tomorrow may not come and later will be forgotten.

Do it now. Start today. Open your eyes and say, I’m going to give myself 30 minutes. Start small. A friend has been an posting #onesimplechange. Starting small doesn’t mean you’re weak, it means that you are ready. Starting small and making one simple change is better than making no change at all and then later wishing you had.

There are a few ladies that I religiously follow. One workout I’m currently doing is Sore to the Core with Alexa Jean Fit (her website but move to the bottom of the page to connect with her through other social media. She also shares videos). She not only shares her workouts, but she truly has an inspirational soul. Another wonderful inspiration is Natalie Jill Fit who shares monthly workout plans you can subscribe to and she even has YouTube videos to accompany for how-to’s. She started out as an over weight single mother focused on work and then completely turned her life around. She shares her story on her page. Here’s an example of one of her YouTube example video’s- Best Lower Ab Workout. Another one of my favorites who just so happens to be from Australia is Emily Skye. Each one of them started somewhere and gained all their knowledge and are willing to share it with the world.

Those ladies are just a few of my favorites and all of which are on Instagram and Facebook. A large majority of their workouts require no equipment unless it’s a ball, weights, kettle bell or a resistance band. They focus more on using your body weight and resistance. I love this because I can do any workout from the convenience of my own home instead of carting around a toddler or looking for a sitter.

So let me ask you this… Do you know your why and would you be able to hold your yourself accountable alone? Or would you possibly benefit from joining an accountability group?

Accountability and sharing your experiences will take pure raw honesty. The downfall to working out from home is that it requires major determination and liability on your part. You are responsible for your own workouts. You are responsible for the food you put in your body behind closed doors. From home, no one will really be aware how hard you worked, if you completed the entire workout or whether you even started it. Be honest and you’ll eventually be rewarded. There are people like you who can relate to your struggles, you are not alone.

Whether you find someone to join the journey with you on a personal basis or you join an accountability group, you will more than likely push yourself further. If you had someone or a group that you can send daily updates to, wouldn’t you work harder? A person or group text of people you can share encouraging thoughts, inspirations, recipes, a completed workout picture or routine to. Or simply failings from the day. You will have bad days, struggles, set-backs and let downs, BUT DON’T LET THEM KEEP YOU DOWN! Also, remember just because you know, doesn’t mean someone else does and it may be information they have been looking for. Share it!

Facebook is a place for every little type of information. Both negative and positive. I would like to start a private group on Facebook, somewhere that we are all familiar with and have easy access to by the click of a few buttons. Even if you’re not ready to start today, someone may share the information there that will change your mind and eventually your life. We are all knowledgeable creatures and what I know, someone else may not and vise versa. I want it to be a friendly, empowering, encouraging and supportive atmosphere.

SO- Would you be willing to join an accountability group?

If so, let me know you like this and I’ve already got it in the works.

image

 

Leave a Reply

